PTA grads get their pins

Posted on 05.12.11 in Press Release

PTA pinning 2011Nine new physical therapist assistants are a big step closer to joining their profession. Wednesday night the graduates of Mohave Community College’s PTA program received their PTA pins during a ceremony on the Lake Havasu City campus.

The students participated in MCC’s commencement ceremonies on May 13. Next they must apply to the licensing board, in the state where they will work, to sit for the national PTA exam. Afterward, they take an exam on the state’s laws, regulations and practices regarding physical therapy treatment, and they are ready to go to work.

The pinning ceremony is a somewhat formal affair, but this year it included  some levity and some tears. Program Director Rhonda Schnabl had people on their feet and laughing when she and resident faculty member Carrie Perkins demonstrated the ins and outs of the “high ten.”

PTA pinning 2011 high-tensThe emotion of the evening included some tears, which accompanied the knowledge that this was Schnabl’s last PTA pinning ceremony as program director. She is leaving the post after ushering the program through the accreditation process and directing it for the last three years.

Graduating from the program are Lindsey Arndt, Kelly Bales, Deanna Brocard, Jerrieann Buczek, Erin Ginsburg, Sherry Hammontree, Wendy McGuire, Darryll McKoy, Christina Miller, David Nichols and Kylee Nusbaum.

PTA pinning 2011 horizon awardThis is the second class to graduate from MCC’s PTA program, which started in a garage on campus that was converted to a state-of-the-art physical therapy lab. The conversion was made possible by a donation from the estate of the late Catherine Fitzgerald.

Fitzgerald’s niece Kathleen Moon and friend Kathy Hodel, who also serves on MCC’s Governing Board, presented the second Catherine Fitzgerald Leadership Award to graduate Kylee Nusbaum. The program’s first “Horizon Award” was given to graduate Darryll McKoy.


Group photo – The 2011 graduates of Mohave Community College’s physical therapist assistant program are, left to right, Erin Ginsburg, Lindsey Arndt, Darryll McKoy, Sherry Hammontree, Christina Miller, Wendy McGuire, David Nichols, Kylee Nusbaum, Jerrieanne Bucszek, Deanna Brocard and Kelly Bales.

High ten – PTA Program Director Rhonda Schnabl, right, gives a “high ten” to graduate Kylee Nusbaum, the recipient of the second Catherine Fitzgerald Leadership Award, during the program’s pinning ceremony May 11 on the Lake Havasu City campus of Mohave Community College.

Horizon award – PTA Program Director Rhonda Schnabl presents graduate Darryll McKoy with the program’s first HORIZON Award during a pinning ceremony May 11 on the Lake Havasu City campus of Mohave Community College.

Comments are closed.